I’m @ ALA in Anaheim!

There will be a few days lapse before I write another review, as I’m at the American Library Association’s (ALA) Annual Conference in Anaheim, California and will have zero time to read.

The Vendor Exhibits open Friday evening, where I hope to begin the search of finding great ARC’s (Advanced Reading Copies) of some of the latest and greatest reads – including continuations of some of the books I just finished reading.

I’m sitting here going over the list of Vendors in the Program, plotting out which YA publishers I want to visit. When the doors open, and the mad rush of thousands of librarians all trying to get somewhere fast begins, I plan to be prepared. I’m on a mission.

Not for me are the free pens, pencils, tote bags, keychains, bookmarks, posters, fuzzy creatures, pads, stickers, candy, stuffed animals, games, dancing cats, sweet talking Vendors, talking robot, free food and drinks, games, poetry readings, free audiobooks, demos, raffles, water bottles, author signings, cake and more. I’m on a mission. I want ARC’s. Maybe I’ll allow myself to be distracted with all these other freebies once I’ve scooped up every interesting ARC I can find, but not until then.

“I want ARC’s” will be my mantra from Friday-Monday (when the Exhibits close) as I use my free time after sessions to prowl the Exhibits. The ALA Conference is a great time to catch up with old friends from AASL (American Association of School Librarians), REFORMA (The National Association to Promote Library & Information Services to Latinos and the Spanish Speaking), YALSA (Young Adult Library Services Association), and other ALA divisions to which I belong. It’s also a time to make new friends, meet authors, attend great sessions, and learn new things going on in the library world. BUT, it’s also about the ARC’s.

May the best ARC’s have been all packed up and shipped home to me when I leave Tuesday. Let the games begin…

Leave a Reply

