“The Rise of Nine” Pittacus Lore

Lorien Legacies series, book #3. Harper (HarperCollins). 360 pp.

The Rise of NineIncludes excerpts from “I am Number Four: The Lost Files: Six’s Legacy,” “I am Number Four: The Lost Files: Nine’s Legacy,” and “I am Number Four: The Lost Files: The Fallen Legacies.”

This new addition to the “Lorien Legacies” series is even more action packed than the other books in the series. Pittacus Lore has done it again – hooking readers from the first page and leading us from one cliff hanger to another. In alternating voices Numbers Four and Six tell their stories as they fight to save themselves, other members of the Garde, and Earth from the invading Mogadorian army. Humor and Mog fights are interspersed with discoveries of each other, new Legacies of power, and betrayals by the United States government.

I found myself laughing aloud more than once, and rapidly turning pages wanting to know what adventure would next befall the remaining members of the Lorien Garde. Despite ending on a cliffhanger, readers are appeased by the newly released “I am Number Four: The Lost Files: The Legacies,” short novellas about Six, Nine and a couple of Mogadorian teens on Earth. Short chapters from each are included at the end of the book.

Readers ages 12 and up will not only look forward to reading this newest book, but to reading the next edition in the series “The Return of Lorien.” Its release date is August 2013, and I’ll be looking long and hard for its ARC at Seattle when I go to ALA’s Midwinter Conference.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s