“Diary of a Wimpy Kid: Greg Heffley’s Journal” Jeff Kinney

2007. Amulet Books. 217 pp.

DiaryofaWimpyKidI know, I’m totally behind the times because practically everyone else has already read this book. However since I’m on vacation and didn’t bring enough books to read, I had to go to the Public Library. Their YA section was sadly lacking in interesting titles so, when I saw this book I figured “why not?” and borrowed it to read. I’m glad I did.

Greg has just started middle school and, through the use of funny cartoon drawings and his “journal” (making sure to insist we don’t think it’s an actual “diary”) tells readers all about the horrors of middle school life. Kinney’s hysterical descriptions and drawings had me in stitches from the first few pages, and it’s easy to see why kids of all ages (especially boys) love this series. Poor Greg can’t catch a break, as all of his various schemes to achieve popularity and notoriety all fade to nothing, leaving him holding the proverbial bag on every occasion.

Boys aged 9 and up will become instant fans, and will devour the rest of the books in the series.

Leave a Reply

