“Birth Marked” Caragh M. O’Brien

“The Birthmarked Trilogy,” Book #1. Roaring Book Press. 2010. 362 pp.

BirthMarkedI read this book back in 2010 when it was first released. Those of you who follow my blog know how much I dislike series books because I usually wind up forgetting what each book is about before the next one is released. “Birth Marked” was no exception, since I’d forgotten what it was about and couldn’t read the next two books until I refreshed my memory on the first one. However, since I hadn’t read YA in so long, and my new school had all three copies, I decided to reread book 1 and treat myself to some good ole YA .

Sixteen-year-old Gaia is an assistant to her midwife mother. She assists with births and makes sure their quota of Advancing three babies per month to The Enclave is met. The poor citizens on her side of The Wall are supposed to be glad their perfect children have been Advanced to serve The Enclave, to be raised with the rich citizens on the other side of The Wall. No one with a defect is ever Advanced, as Gaia’s scarred face excluded her from a life of privilege. She has always unquestioningly followed Enclave rules, but everything changes when her parents are arrested and accused of being traitors to the Enclave.

Gaia’s only thoughts are for her parents’ safety but, while trying to figure out how to save them, she finds out strange and unsettling things about The Enclave and those in leadership. A veiled secret and open threat towards her from The Enclave only serves to make Gaia fear more for their safety. Aided by simple townspeople, and an unexpected source from The Enclave itself, Gaia must choose between the life she’s always known and the unknown future which awaits if she rebels.

Fourteen and older fans of dystopian YA will enjoy O’Brien’s first foray into YA literature.

 

 

Author: Mrs. Mac

As a School Librarian, I was Co-Chair of REFORMA's (The National Association to Promote Library Services to the Latinos and Spanish Speaking) CAYASC (Children & Young Adult Services Committee) for 2 yrs. As Co-Chair, I was in charge of all things YA. I have been a member of YALSA (Young Adult Library Services Association) for many years, and have worked as a school librarian for many years. When I'm not blogging, I like to read, run, race and sing - not necessarily in that order. My blog reviews books I enjoyed (or didn't enjoy), which leaves you to ask yourself "Should I Read it or Not?"

Leave a Reply

