“The Mind Readers” Lori Brighton

Rated 1 star * Mind Readers #1. ebook. Published 2010.

TheMindReadersI will start out this review by saying I was tricked into reading this book.

I downloaded it for my kindle because it was free, and the summary sounded interesting. I didn’t know it was self published, and didn’t know it was part of a series. Those of you who follow my blog know I loathe self published books because of their numerous errors, and dislike books that go on and on in a series. I will only read a series if all the books are available NOW.

Anyway, since I didn’t know it was self published and part of a series, I started to read. I soon noticed grammatical errors, misspelled words, missing commas, misplaced commas, and “double” words. The storyline of Cameron, a young 17 year old girl being pursued by two opposing groups because she can read minds, carried me through the errors, which weren’t as numerous as they normally are in self published books but were still grating on my nerves.

Cameron trusts handsome Lewis, who assures her he can take her to a safe house where her abilities won’t matter and she can be trained to use them. Tired of hiding behind the facade of “acting normal” insisted upon by her grandmother, Cameron leaves with Lewis only to find that the safe house he promised her is really a house of horrors. Similar to the Eagles’ “Hotel California” song, she can check out any time she likes, but she can never leave.

Since the book ended on a cliff hanger, I ordered the next two books in the series and THEN realized it had been self published – just as I’d thought. Since I was already hooked, and hate leaving a book with a cliff hanger, I am now reluctantly committed to reading the other books in the series.

However, I am offering free advice to those wanting to self publish a book: give your manuscript to at least 10-15 other people to read BEFORE you publish it so they catch errors you don’t catch. It is very easy to miss grammatical errors, misspelled words, etc. when only one or two people are reading a manuscript. Thus when a group reads it SOMEONE will catch the mistakes.

I will leave it up to you to decide if you want to Read It Or Not.

 

Leave a Reply

