“Dead Silence” Norah McClintock

Rated 4 stars **** Mike & Riel book #5. Published March 1, 2014. ARC Darby Creek Publishing.

DeadSilenceHigh school will never be the same. Those were Mike’s thoughts the day his best friend Sal was killed. He blames himself for not being there for Sal that fateful day and is angry at everyone especially Teddy, the school bully, and his gang. In his mind Mike has already solved the case, and Teddy is guilty. All he needs to do is to convince the police.

As Mike begins to digs into what happened on the day of the murder, he starts to find out things he didn’t really know about his best friend. It doesn’t take long before Mike’s questions carry over to his own relationship with Sal and his behavior towards others. No one is more shocked than Mike when the true murderer is uncovered.

Despite “Dead Silence” being the fifth in a series, it is not necessary to have read the other books, as it stands alone on its own merits. There are references to past books, which may make the reader want to read them, which is not a bad idea.

Recommended for ages 13-16, especially reluctant readers.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s