“Whistling Women” Kelly Romo

Rated 3 stars *** ARC. Ebook. To be published November 17, 2015. Lake Union Publishing.

WhistlingWomenNet galley provided me with this book, in return for an honest review.

It is 1935, and Addie Bates has lived in the sanctuary of a nudist colony since 1918. Afraid of her past life in San Diego, she has made a comfortable home for herself amongst other like-minded people. However when their colony travels to San Diego to be part of the World’s Fair, Addie is terrified. She has tried for years to reconcile with her sister Wavey, and knows if she goes with the colony she will have to come face-to-face with the reason why she was suddenly sent away when she was only 14 years old. Heinrich, the colony’s founder, will throw her out if she stays behind so, filled with dread, Addie travels to San Diego where her worst fears are realized.

This is Addie’s story, but it’s also that of Wavey and her daughters Rumor and Mary as their lives are intertwined. I’m not quite sure why the author chose the title “Whistling Women” to describe them, but perhaps she may comment here and enlighten me. There are lots of interesting facts putting the book in its time and place, as well as fun facts about the Fair and Zoro Gardens, which will interest readers.

Recommended for Adults.

**Shortly after my review, the author answered my question about why she chose the title “Whistling Women.” Here is her response: “Hello Alma, Thank you for your review. I titled my novel, Whistling Women, based on an old proverb: “A whistling woman and a crowing hen always come to some bad end.” In the past, independent women who didn’t conform to society’s expectations had a hard life with very few choices.”

Author: Mrs. Mac

As a School Librarian, I was Co-Chair of REFORMA's (The National Association to Promote Library Services to the Latinos and Spanish Speaking) CAYASC (Children & Young Adult Services Committee) for 2 yrs. As Co-Chair, I was in charge of all things YA. I have been a member of YALSA (Young Adult Library Services Association) for many years, and have worked as a school librarian for many years. When I'm not blogging, I like to read, run, race and sing - not necessarily in that order. My blog reviews books I enjoyed (or didn't enjoy), which leaves you to ask yourself "Should I Read it or Not?"

2 thoughts on ““Whistling Women” Kelly Romo”

  1. Hello Alma, Thank you for your review. I titled my novel, Whistling Women, based on an old proverb: “A whistling woman and a crowing hen always come to some bad end.” In the past, independent women who didn’t conform to society’s expectations had a hard life with very few choices.

Leave a Reply

